Tajikistan and Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO)

04.07.2019 10:10

Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) is an intergovernmental regional organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey for the purpose of promoting economic, technical and cultural cooperation among the Member States.

In 1992 the Organization was expanded to include seven new members, namely: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The date of the Organization’s expansion to its current membership, 28thNovember, is being observed as the ECO Day.

Before the beginning of 1992 the interaction between ECO members was mainly limited to bilateral relations. And with membership of seven new members in 1992 the activities of the ECO were largely extended.
The Agreement of Cooperation between the ECO and UN was concluded at 50-th UN General Assembly in 1995 and the ECO was granted the status of observer to the UN. 

The ECO region has great economic and trading prospects. Over the past 12 years the Member States have been collaborating to accelerate the pace of regional development through their common endeavors. For this purpose the ECO has embarked on several projects in priority sectors of its cooperation, including energy, trade, transportation and agriculture, combating against illicit drug trafficking and organized crime.

In March 2017 in the 〖13〗^th ECO Summit of Heads of States held in Islamabad “ECO Vision-2025” was endorsed where main directions of the ECO in the coming years well outlined.

Current Membership:

1. Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
2. Azerbaijan Republic
3. Islamic Republic of Iran 
4. Republic of Kazakhstan
5. Kyrgyz Republic
6. Islamic Republic of Pakistan
7. Republic of Tajikistan
8. Republic of Turkey
9. Turkmenistan
10. Republic of Uzbekistan